Since the resignation of the last Nuclear Regulatory Commission chairman, Gregory Jaczko there has been a general lift in the industry’s spirits. So far the current chairwoman, Allison McFarlane hasn’t made any moves to quell American enthusiasm. This situation, now well over a year in, has raised a lot of hopes and stirred a lot […]

The first firm we’ll look at is Flibe Energy, a new company that will develop small modular reactors based on liquid-fluoride thorium reactor (LFTR) technology.  Flibe Energy is a new company founded by Kirk Sorensen who was (is still?) chief nuclear technologist at Teledyne Brown.  The second is Thorenco LLC, founded by Charles S. Holden […]